Skip to content
Allam British Open 2021
All you need to know
About the British Open

The Allam British Open is the oldest and most established tournament on the PSA World Tour calendar and has seen some of the greatest players of all time battle it out to lift the trophy. Second only to the PSA World Championships in prestige, the British Open began in 1929 and returns to Hull for a seventh year.

The Venue

Hull first played host to the British Open in 2013 when the event was held inside the KC Stadium, home of football club Hull City and rugby league side Hull FC. It moved to the nearby Airco Arena in 2014 before moving to its current home at the University of Hull in 2019.

Find Out More
The history

The British Open began in 1929 under a challenge format, where the title holder would be challenged by either the professional or amateur squash champion. Englishman Charles Read was named the first ever winner on the basis of his results the previous year, before he lost in the first final in 1930 with defeat to Don Butcher in a two-legged affair at the Queen’s Club and the Conservative Club, both in London.

Find Out More
Memorable matches

The Allam British Open has staged some of the greatest matches of all time throughout its distinguished 88-year history. Here you can re-live some of the most dramatic matches to take place in front of the SQUASHTV cameras.

Find Out More
Rewind to 2019

Egyptian duo Nouran Gohar and Mohamed ElShorbagy claimed the 2019 Allam British Open titles after they got the better of Camille Serme and Ali Farag in their respective final fixtures.

Find Out More