Skip to content
Allam British Open 2018
Venue, history, hotels and more
About The British Open

The Allam British Open is the oldest and most established tournament on the PSA World Tour calendar and has seen some of the greatest players of all time battle it out to lift the trophy. Second only to the PSA World Championships in prestige, the British Open began in 1929 and returns to Hull for a sixth year.


Hull first played host to the British Open in 2013 when the event was held inside the KC Stadium, home of football club Hull City and rugby league side Hull FC. It moved to the nearby Airco Arena in 2014.

Find Out More

The British Open began in 1929 under a challenge format, where the title holder would be challenged by either the professional or amateur squash champion. Englishman Charles Read was named the first ever winner on the basis of his results the previous year, before he lost in the first final in 1930 with defeat to Don Butcher in a two-legged affair at the Queen’s Club and the Conservative Club, both in London.

Find Out More

The Allam British Open has staged some of the greatest matches of all time throughout its distinguished 87 year history. Here you can re-live some of the most dramatic matches to take place in front of the SQUASHTV cameras.

Find Out More

Last year’s instalment of the Allam British Open saw current World No.1 Gregory Gaultier and England's Laura Massaro emerge victorious after claiming respective wins over Nick Matthew and Sarah-Jane Perry.

Find Out More